Chapter 4 : Chemo…yucky yucky Chemo….

August 2010: This is my last chemo cycle. I will continue to get bi- weekly Herceptin infusions for many more months., but no more Taxotere or Carboplatin. Yay !!! I have made through the worst.

It was a rough ride, I am bald, I have no eyebrows, or eyelashes, I have gained around 15 pounds, my skin is splotchy and pigmented in a weird way. I am tired all the time and food tastes like mud, yes literally mud. It is not that good on the personality side either. My parents have moved in to take care of me and keep the house in order while my husband deals with all these doctors appointments and infusion visits while working on his PHD thesis, and how do I repay them ?? Well I yell at my mom at every given opportunity, the TV too loud, its so hot in here, the food smells awful, so on and so forth.

Am I proud of all this, absolutely not, but I think I am lucky just plain lucky.

Mom and Dad still love their little monster of a daughter. Hubby darling knows that somewhere inside this  bald girl with a now impatient acerbic tongue lives the girl he fell in love with and patiently waits for her to return.

Thank you God for blessing me with this family!! Thank you.

I will try my best to be worthy of such a blessing.

Leave a comment